Busted Rare rotor button

3T-GTE Noob

Hi all - I will firstly admit that I am a noob, but being a rather inquisitive noob, I have looked in many places for information on where I could get a replacement rotor button for a 3T-GTE Distributor. I've hit a whole heap of brick walls, many of them telling me I was dreaming and that I will almost never find a replacement, so I am now looking into solutions for either repairing the existing one, or going as far as replacing the entire ignition system with an electronic alternative. I have no idea what that would entail, nor the costs involved, but the electronic replacement option has been put forward by an auto electrician friend of mine.

I apologise in advance if there is a duplicate topic, but I have done a search for similar topics and it came up dry, so if there is a topic that will answer my questions, please point me in it's direction. Otherwise, if anyone has any information relating to either repairing the existing RB or solutions that any of you have come up with in an effort to bypass the necessity of a rotor button/distributor on a 3T-GTE twin spark engine, I would really appreciate it :)

P.S. on an unrelated note, are there any readily available products which will loosen up components fused together by rust?

Edited by 3T-GTE Noob

Hi all - I will firstly admit that I am a noob, but being a rather inquisitive noob, I have looked in many places for information on where I could get a replacement rotor button for a 3T-GTE Distributor. I've hit a whole heap of brick walls, many of them telling me I was dreaming and that I will almost never find a replacement, so I am now looking into solutions for either repairing the existing one, or going as far as replacing the entire ignition system with an electronic alternative. I have no idea what that would entail, nor the costs involved, but the electronic replacement option has been put forward by an auto electrician friend of mine.