Jump to content

  •  

Photo

1zz to 2zz


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 daniboy

daniboy

    Advanced Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:ZZE122 wagon,now 2zz, NZE121G Aero mock up

Posted 09 November 2009 - 08:02 PM

ok im considering putting a 2zz in my zze122 wagon, i can get the engine and ecu cheap,whos done the conversion before? any tips ....compatability of wiring plugs from the 1zz loom?
will a 2zz plug into a 1zz loom?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

 

#2 SuperDave

SuperDave

    April 2008 Member of the Month

  • TOC Supporter
  • 5,072 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:2004 Corolla RunX
  • Location:
Contributor

Posted 09 November 2009 - 08:10 PM

The 2zz ECU has a couple more wires over the 1zz ECU to control lift, easily fixed however by running your own wire to the VVTL mechanism. They use the same plugs too, I haven't gone through and checked the wiring on a 1zz but I know the wiring diagram in the official Toyota shop manual is wrong (for the manual at least).

Don't forget you'll also need the 6-speed box, the 5-speed box is rubbish match to the 2zz.

#3 daniboy

daniboy

    Advanced Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:ZZE122 wagon,now 2zz, NZE121G Aero mock up

Posted 09 November 2009 - 08:15 PM

i already have a 6 speed im building for the wagon, has anyone plugged a 2zz ecu up to a 1zz loom?

#4 SuperDave

SuperDave

    April 2008 Member of the Month

  • TOC Supporter
  • 5,072 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:2004 Corolla RunX
  • Location:
Contributor

Posted 09 November 2009 - 09:53 PM

has anyone plugged a 2zz ecu up to a 1zz loom?

I have

#5 daniboy

daniboy

    Advanced Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:ZZE122 wagon,now 2zz, NZE121G Aero mock up

Posted 09 November 2009 - 09:57 PM

where is the ecu in our little rollas, i havnt even looked for it haha, what else should i be chasing for this conversion? i will be picking up the ecu ,engine ,fuel pump, i have a six speed already

#6 SuperDave

SuperDave

    April 2008 Member of the Month

  • TOC Supporter
  • 5,072 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:2004 Corolla RunX
  • Location:
Contributor

Posted 09 November 2009 - 10:06 PM

where is the ecu in our little rollas, i havnt even looked for it haha, what else should i be chasing for this conversion? i will be picking up the ecu ,engine ,fuel pump, i have a six speed already

I thought the fuel pumps are the same. Make sure the engine comes with the injectors though.
In the passenger footwell underneath the glovebox; look under the glovebox (no need to remove it) there will be two plugs, take these out and there you will see the ECU. If unplugging anything I recommend disconnecting the battery, but be aware everything will be reset.

#7 daniboy

daniboy

    Advanced Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:ZZE122 wagon,now 2zz, NZE121G Aero mock up

Posted 11 November 2009 - 10:59 AM

Ok looks like I will be diving into this, would like to hear from anyone who has done the conversion, and any issues they had,

#8 mick.wheelz

mick.wheelz

    Bush Mechanic™

  • Management
  • 9,394 posts
  • First Name:Mick
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:Prado
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Queensland
Contributor

Posted 11 November 2009 - 11:20 AM

2ZZ wagon would be sick... are you going to keep it stock looking?

#9 SuperDave

SuperDave

    April 2008 Member of the Month

  • TOC Supporter
  • 5,072 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:2004 Corolla RunX
  • Location:
Contributor

Posted 11 November 2009 - 11:27 AM

The front brakes on a Sportivo are bigger (275 v 255mm), would be worthwhile to at least swap to the stock setup.

#10 daniboy

daniboy

    Advanced Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:ZZE122 wagon,now 2zz, NZE121G Aero mock up

Posted 11 November 2009 - 01:10 PM

Where abouts do the engine looms connect the underdash loom? Is it possible to unplug and plug in a sportivo loom I wonder....

#11 spillige

spillige

    Advanced Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,179 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:corolla conquest

Posted 11 November 2009 - 02:08 PM

how about things like climate control, ABS (i think only the levin, conquest and stivo came with it) and instrement cluster (speedo, tacko) also if you own a 05+ model you'd be looking at changeing the pedal box.

#12 Pippy

Pippy

    Advanced Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 587 posts
  • Toyota Model:Corolla ZZE-122
  • Location:

Posted 12 November 2009 - 07:39 AM

i suggest you start by comparing the wiring of the stock ZZE-123 to the stock ZZE-122 wiring.

Personally if i was to do the swap i get a zze-123 front cut and steal the climate control from that too, then you won't have to be messing around with the ZC triggers etc. However having said that, if you are going only for the motor, then the engine loom alone would be ok.

ZZE-123 in japan has both with or without climate control.

again, compare the wiring diagrams of both vehicles and you will find that there might be a couple pins you need to change/swap then that's it.

The swap should be very, VERY, straight forward if you know what you are doing as the location of the engine mounts are common between 122 and 123, and some goes with shift cable links and throttle cable.

as far as engine swaps go, i don't think anyone here has done an engine swap on a ZZE on this forum, and if anyone has they would probably go straight to a 3S-GTE.

#13 whitestivo

whitestivo

    Advanced Member

  • TOC Supporter
  • 1,577 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:Sportivo ZZE123

Posted 12 November 2009 - 08:15 AM

Having met daniboy and he's pimpin wagon last night, he's got the skills to carry this off

whitestivo

#14 CHA54

CHA54

    Advanced Member

  • Regular Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,014 posts
  • Gender*:Male
  • Toyota Model:various
  • Location:

Posted 12 November 2009 - 08:49 AM

if you're using an australian 2zz, dont forget about the ECU's immobiliser coded to the 2zz keys. Make sure you get the matching keys with your 2zz ECU. Alternative is to get a powerfc or other full aftermarket ECU.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users