What are the known faults of 1MZ-FE engine if any?

CrazyDragon

I have a Toyota Landcruiser Prado KZJ 78. It had the 1KZ-TE engine which was very famous for cracking heads. Unfortunately mine just went bout a month ago. To be honest it's a little expensive to maintain as it's almost 18 years old. It's still my favourite vehicle but as I'm studying right now, I don't really have enough time to learn how to fix it. I decided to sell it cheap and maybe look for a 2000-2002 Camry instead.

I understand that there are two variants of the 2000-2002 Camry. One comes with the 2.2L Engine and the other comes with the 3.0L 1MZ-FE engine. I tried googling any known faults for 1MZ-FE engines and everything seems quite random. If you google known faults of 1KZ-TE pretty much everything points to blowing head gasket/cylinders.

So I need to ask around and do my research before actually start looking for a Camry. What are the known faults of both 2.2L and 3.0L engines if any? Does anyone have a 2000-2002 model? The XV20? What are your thoughts about it? What should I be careful of when I'm looking for one?

Any advice is appreciated

Thanks,

Kevin

I actually own an Avalon which shares the 1mz and have put over 330k kms on it.

Have kept it well maintained and other than the occasional oil leak which was a result of a gasket or something else minor knock on wood no major engine probs wat so ever,

Obviously I can't comment on the other aspects of the car ur looking at since its an Avalon that I own & not a Camry .

Wat I can suggest is stick with the 3L ..... The 2.2 ull find u r having to be up it always to get the car moving whereas the added torque and power from the 1mz makes it a much smoother ride

Just my thoughts

The 1mz has 1 known 'issue' which is the over-sensitive knock sensors. Not really a problem if you aren't boosting it. As Xoom has said, the leak but that's due to time (gasket losing it's sealing ability) and the engine's tilt how it is mounted.