Outputs for the 2004 Azura Stereo

Scatteredjade

Good Morning all .. Sorry I'm really new to any sort of forum but I have a problem and this is the only way I can think of maybe fixing it without pulling my dash apart.

I have a 2004 Azura and I want to put in new speakers/sub and amp but I want to keep the original head unit that the car came with ..

Can anybody please tell how many outputs there might be on the back of the head unit ???
Does it have high power or low power outputs for the speakers ??
Or has anybody else done this ???

Thank you very much

Mel xx :help:

Can't comment on the amount of outputs on the back of the unit but you will definitely want to put in an amp to drive any speakers you put in. My first install was stock unit and upgraded speakers and there simply wasn't enough juice.

If it's anything like other cars, it probably has eight speaker wires coming out of the back of the headunit. Each pair goes to a speaker. If you've got more than four speakers in the car (e.g. tweeters in your front A pillar), then it might be a pair of wires that go to your tweeter and then the speaker in your dash or front door.

The headunit outputs speaker-level signals and it's amplified, but it won't be as powerful as you'd need for your new speakers and subwoofer. To keep the headunit in the car with your new sub and speakers, ensure your new amplifier has high-level inputs. You can then connect your headunit's speaker outputs directly to the amplifier without needing any other gadgets.

• 3 months later...

Hi Melanie,