High petrol consumption

krigeroz

I am getting 22L, in the city I think it is a bit high. I will be going to the mechanic on Monday, is there anything I should point out to him. It is Aurion 2013 with over 100k on the clock. I'm been trying to use Eco mode, but it looks like the Eco mode gives the higher petrol consumption for me. Have anyone been using Eco mode with much success? The pressure in my wheels was 31 I pumped them to 36psi. Hope that will help a bit. I'm been using Premium 98.

20161123_160348_resize.jpg

20161123_160421_resize.jpg

20161123_160441_resize.jpg

Here's my 5 cents worth, I don't have eco mode on my 2007 aurion but I have been driving mine for about 6 years and this is what I've found out.

If I'm mainly urban/city driving all week, I will average 13-14L per 100km.

If I'm mainly freeway commuting Monday to Friday and urban/city driving on the weekends, I will average around 10L per 100km.

If I go a long highway drive with 98ron petrol, I can usually get the consumption down to 7.8L per 100km.

I have experimented a lot with tyre pressures but the one I like the most is 32PSI at the back and 34-36PSI at the front.

I like to use 98ron but damn the price has been high recently.

----

During the winter months, I used to let the let the car idle for at least a minute every morning before setting off for work, it was during those months that most of my driving was urban/city with little freeway driving, I was averaging 13-14L per 100km. 22L does seem a bit high but then again, our aurions are not the same. 

Hope this helps and I hope you get some answers too.

• Like 1

Similar experience as Kombi17 with my 2006 Aurion.

Average 10L per 100km with urban driving.

Can also achieve 7.8L per 100km for interstate trips when cruising. Not so good with lots of full throttle overtaking manouvres.

I have mainly used 36PSI on my various vehicles. However, now using 38-40PSI on my Aurion which is fitted with standard profile tyres.