New Hiace owner looking for advice.

GILow

Hello all,

I am the happy new owner of a nicely maintained 2004 Hiace (last of the series 4) with 406,000 km.  

The van feels very good, engine is tidy, and being a private sale it had not been steam cleaned so it is an "honest" version of tidy.

I have four items needing attention, and I would appreciate your thoughts on each of them: (For the record, I am a reasonably competent home mechanic, having restored a number of vintage vehicles from scratch and having put a Nissan RB30 engine in a Toyota Coaster.  Not much mechanical work scares me, though maybe it should.)

The van has a noisy thrust bearing in the clutch.  That looks like a simple enough job, and I think the clutch itself is in good enough condition to just replace the bearings and leave the rest alone.  The van (mostly) won't be working hard, mainly I bought it to run a local home handyman business, part time.  Traffic is very light where I live and I expect no more than half an hour of driving every other day in light suburban traffic.

The steering feels vague.  I don't know what is normal for this model, but I am guessing it has worn tie rod ends.  I need to get it up on the ramps to have a proper look at these, but are there any other areas that could create a vague feeling in the steering after this sort of mileage that should be considered?  (Tyres are brand new supercats, so I assume they are not the problem.)

The diff is noisey.  It has a real hiss to it above 40 km/h.  I don't know what is normal for these diffs and how much warning you get of a failure.  I am tempted to put some Nulon in it and see what happens, but I would appreciate advice on the probable behavior of a diff showing those systems.  (To complicate things, the van has to do a trip to Melbourne in January, followed by a couple of weeks as a camper van travelling around Tasmania, so there will be a brief period of high speed work for the diff to cope with.)