Changing the Avalon sound system ...

TonyD

Gday guys, im kinda new to this whole thing so I thought id ask here before anywhere else ...

Ive taken possession of a 2002 Avalon Sorrento off my dad (its on gas alright! its the only reason i got it lol), and unfortunately he got the crap standard Toyota CD/Cassette and 4 speakers when he bought the car. Now ive helped my mates change the stereos in their cars, but they all have older model mazdas/toyotas which fit the older style (180mm wide, i think) head unit ...

But the AVALON on the otherhand has a stupid 230mm double din which i have NO idea whatsoever on how to get out. Im looking at getting a pioneer double din head unit, 4 x (6'x9') speakers to replace the crap ones, and a Sony amp. I think it'll work, but I dunno.

So what im asking is, is it possible at all to replace the Avalon front end? Sure there's gonna have to be spacers on the side of the head unit IF its possible, but i'll just get neons put in behind some perspex or something. The dude at strathfield had no idea, so if you guys dunno i guess i'll go get ripped off by Toyota or something.

Cheers

:D

EDIT: Fixed up bad grammar/spelling lol

Edited by TonyD

either buy a double din head unit or single din and a pocket under / above it

also, you can get wiring looms from autobarn that plug into the ISO (toyota wiring) to the back of headunit (~$50-$60)

if you need a hand and live in sydney, call me (details in profile)

cheers

either buy a double din head unit or single din and a pocket under / above it

also, you can get wiring looms from autobarn that plug into the ISO (toyota wiring) to the back of headunit (~$50-$60)

if you need a hand and live in sydney, call me (details in profile)

cheers