caravan towing trip

GK200

Hi, We went on a short trip last weekend with our caravan and wanted to share some findings about fuel consumption and gear selection.

We have a Dec 09 KX-S AWD only 5000km on the clock, trip was only 400km round trip. Van is 1650kg. As I'm still new to the Kluger I thought I would try a few things towing. I decided to use 4th gear in S mode going to Berri in S.A. Fuel read 21L/100 km. No wind really at all. Speed was 100km/hr .I thought we're not going to get far on a full tank at this rate.

On the way home I used 4th gear on the very steep hills only, then decided to leave it in 5th and go easy on the pedal, we had a slight tail wind. Fuel consumption was 16.2 L/100km. Using 5th gear in S-mode. It doesn't take much of a road rise and it jumps back a gear.(or should say 1/2 agear??) only went back to 4th when I had to push it harder to get up a steep hill. maybe it goes back to 4th overdrive or something??

Anyway, 5th gear is ok on the flat road. I must say, the Kluger is much better than the Commodore towing the van. Kluger does it easily and you feel a lot safer.

Does anyone know of any gearbox issues with towing in 5th gear?

cheers

Geoff :)

Edited by GK200

dont know the model, all i can say is ensure it has a really good tranny fluid cooler fitted, and even consider going to a quality trans fluid. Heat is the typical killer of auto trannys.

The computer should be calibrated to ensure there is no over-torquing of the box, so shouldnt be an issue using fifth, long as it does kick back when required.

Hi, We went on a short trip last weekend with our caravan and wanted to share some findings about fuel consumption and gear selection.