Why do different trade workers wear different colour clothes?

EK1

hey,

just wondering why different trade workers wear different colour clothes? and what each colour represents. namely blue, yellow, orange and green clothes. thanks

Don't quote me on this, but I think it's to differentiate between the diferent trades out there... i might be wrong.

I work in the plumbing trade.. (selling the fittings... not sticking my hands down dunnies) and i know for a fact that they wear the "Navy Blue" - i guess it's to do with the 'water' side of the job...

Builders and Carpenters/Chippies usually wear the Tuape/Olive colours.... and Painters normally wear White...

as for the orange... i think this belongs to the safety workers like SES as these are high vis....

but green....never seen it worn.. :)

My thoughts.

Painters:white so that they can bleach the clothes and try to keep them partially clean

Mechanics: Black so you dont see all the oil/grease stains.

Council workers, energy aus :fluro vests for visibility due to the fact that they work around populated zones such as streets (e.g street lights) and such

Chippies: browns and such so you dont see all the sawdust there covered in.

Me im a sparky and the uniform from boss is blue king jees with light blue button shirt. I guess sparkies are considered the cleanest trade (even though were not) so i guess we try to look a little bit more formal/presentable with shirt and collar.

Like i said, i could be wrong its just my thoughts

Painters:white so that they can bleach the clothes and try to keep them partially clean

That is a good point. I always wondered why people like painters wore white when you always see them with different colours of paint all over them. I always thought that was a little funny.