Aurion alternator removal

RobboNZ

Hey everyone,

I am a newbie to this forum. I own a 2007 Aurion SX6 and just recently have noticed a noise on engine shutdown just as the sepentine belt stops turning. After some investigation using a handheld stethoscope, I thought the sound, (which I liken to a dry bearing), was coming from either the belt tensioner, the top idler pulley or the alternator. (Bit difficult to pinpoint as the sound could travel through the belt). I removed the top idler pulley to check the bearing, it appeared smooth and quiet. I removed the dust cover from the idler pulley bearing (6203) and put three small drops of grease and worked into the ball bearings with my finger, then replaced the dust cover. The idler pulley was re-fitted, then the serpentine belt and the tensioner released. I started the engine and shut it down again, unfortunately, the sound was still evident. I have started to remove the alternator, but am having trouble. I have removed all wiring to one side and have removed the two alternator mounting bolts, but it is tight and cannot seem to move it very far towards the front. I can get the alternator front mounting released downwards but then it hits on the A/C pump and for the life of me, the rear mounting is hardly moving. Has anyone removed an alternator from an Aurion and can give me some hints please? While searching online for help, I came across a Gates video on You Tube,

which I suspect may be the sound I am hearing from the alternator decoupler pulley. Any advice will be much appreciated. Thanks in advance. Cheers, Rob.

:help:

Unfortunately, the repair manual requires radiator removal:

30c51fc3.jpg

I've only removed when the engine is not in the car, so I don't have any tricks for you :(

Edited by 450HP/tonne