'92 Celica SX 5S-FE modifications??

AussiePrideKid

Hey all,

Im new to this, a complete noob, and just bought myself a '92 SX Celica, so bare with me!

Through research I found that mods for my model in australia can be hard to find, im talking extractors, cat back, etc.

Im looking for more power, allround.

Would I be better off doing a full engine conversion? Or is it possible to come by the right upgrades despite what ive read? Apparently i wouldnt go wrong if i swapped my 5S-FE for a 3S-GTE?

(ive attached a photo of my new baby)

Any help is much appreciated,

thanks people.

post-35779-0-02452900-1402755892_thumb.j

Probably a 3S-GTE, but only once you're off those P plates. ;)

With a little more research and a fistful of dollars you could try looking at a 5S-GTE option instead.

In all honesty, power is probably the last thing you should be worried about.. but that doesn't stop you from reading up about how to do it properly. ;)

Non-turbo engines aren't made for boost that most turbos deliver. The internals of the engine will give way from being put under too much stress a lot quicker than a build engine (ie. an engine made for the purpose it's going to serve). A 3S-GTE is a good example. The 'T' means turbo... from factory. Your 5S-FE isn't made to go as hard as a turbo powered engine will.

Anyway, research is your best friend at this point, because it sounds like you have a bit of reading to do. :D "If something is worth doing once, then it's worth doing properly" a statement a lot of modders tend to forget when in your boat. Something I myself have learned over the years too.

• Like 1