Reset ECU and program new master key

rbadis

Hi Guys,

I have a 2007 Tarago and while changing the battery for my remote key, I

realised that I lost the transponder chip Damnnn!!

Now still got the key but the car won't start, so I guess I'll be looking to

program a new master key (transponder), I checked with some locksmiths and gave

a quote around $700, and Toyota told me that they can't do it as they don't

have the code, and advised me to Reset (flash) the immobiliser computer box or

I think it called ECU, I'm a computer programmer so I'm guessing that if any

know how to do it I can manage, so does anyone knows how to reset and program a

new master key, it will be really appreciated.

Thanks Guys

There is a bit more to it than just knowing how to reset it, you have to have the correct file to flash the ECU with with. You will also need a replacement transponder chip for your key. You will also have to strip a lot of the dash to get to the immobiliser box.

These can be reset diagnostically ( Which is how I do it) which save a lot of time pulling things apart.

Thanks Brendan,

Getting a new transponder shouldn't be a problem, A locksmith told me that for my tarago normally the immobiliser box should be a silver box located near the glove box!? by my problem is know how to flash it and the steps to program the new transponder.

Thanks

If he told you that he is either purposely trying to steer you in the wrong direction or doesn't know what he is talking about. If it right behind the dash which needs to be stripped back, not really a fun job ( Especially when it can be done by OBD)

Even if you did pull it all apart you would have to have the gear to read chip to flash it, and the reset files aren't something that people like to share. Really, with the amount of time it will take to get it out, work out what needs to be done and get the correct gear the $700 is a better option.