Buying TRD Aurion

Hi guys and girls, new to this forum and wanting to pick your brains. I'm looking at buying a TRD Aurion, I'm not a newbie when it comes to the build quality and reliability factors of Toyotas as I was employed at a Toyota dealership for 8 1/2 years, and I'm not wanting a TRD for the race car impression that everyone thinks they are, but I do like the idea of the added power/torque they have. My question for the brains trust is, are there any significant things I should be aware of before purchasing 1, I have a bit of knowledge about them, bit I also left the dealership in 2010 before any possible problems would have started presenting themselves

Regards, and T.I.A., Damian

For any Aurion, I would be looking at the service record/history to confirm that the vehicle has been well maintained and regularly serviced. Check for engine sludge in the valve cover.

If the water pump is leaking then that is a potential $2,000 repair bill based upon removing the engine. There are workarounds [for the standard non-supercharged Aurions] where the engine can be jacked up for the extra space.

Expect to pay more for the Aurion TRD parts. I am specifically thinking of brake rotors and pads which you can check on eBay.

If the engine kinda sounds like a diesel while idling, get a bit closer and confirm the rattle is coming from the s/c, which'll mean you'll want to look at replacing the coupling inside.

Also, keep an eye out for the dreaded melting dash, as per the sticky up the top. If you find one where the dash has already been replaced you're laughing.

The 1 I'm looking at "apparently" has full service history, I haven't seen the car yet, going to inspect it on Saturday, I'll be checking the service books and such, but the minor worrying detail is it has only 92,000k's on it and I suspect it has only been serviced by kilometres and not time 

My TRD Aurion is at 138,000km right now and increasing at 60km daily.