Rear brake discs warped? 2017 Camry RZ

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone else has experienced this, where the rear brake discs are warped, but not the fronts.

I understand that on my car that the rear discs are solid and that the fronts are ventilated, but usually 80% of braking is done by the front brakes on most cars.

So if anything I would be expecting the fronts to become warped first (also based on my experience when I was a car mechanic).

The symptom is when braking at a higher speed, especially when going down a Hill like Mt Ousley I feel a very noticeable shudder being transmitted through the Pedal and I feel the rear of the car also shuddering very noticeably as well,

But the steering wheel has no vibration at all.

I have just shy of 40,000 km and I have owned it since new (I've had it about 2.5 years)

Thoughts?

Edited by Novicebutnice

I suspect the writer is getting a kick back from DBA don't you think ? :whistling1:

Manufacturing can have a lot to do with it and I'm not sure how to gauge Toyota's quality control for their disc rotors. I have replaced my fronts not because of warpage but for being scored and didn't want to machine them. My rears are still original and are fine.

I think that over torquing wheels nuts can have a detrimental effect as is wetting the wheels when they're hot. You don't want to spray the hot disc with water. I would also say you probably had one or the other or a combination of both.

I never wash my car after it's been driven for this very reason. I'd allow it to cool down or just wait till the morning to do it.  

Disc rotors are pretty cheap so It may be a good time to just replace them and if you don't have a torque wrench, I'd get one. Don't let the tyre people rattle gun the wheels nuts to buggery either. One of my biggest bug bears. Have you ever tried to get a wheel nut loose after the Apes have had a go at it ? I nearly popped a vein in my head ! 

• Like 1

On 8/2/2020 at 5:39 PM, campbeam said: