Collector pipe mod

Jay1

I have read through the collector pipe mod and as a welder i might consider doing it in the future. Although i still cannot determine whether this mod is worth it or really does make a difference because there are no dyno results. Also, does it provide extra low end torque power or top end? Below is the photo of the collector pipe where it squishes up as it joins together.

733AB0F7-5A4C-4EC1-8F64-1833B343C744.png

Similar to yourself I have previously reviewed a number of threads on this Forum about this Y pipe modification. I understand that the torque curve mores more towards the top end.  This does not suit my driving style and conditions where I prefer more torque in the lower rev band.

I made particular note of 1 post where the member did this modification then changed it back to factory standard.

End result is that I upgraded the rear catalytic convertor to a high flow one. Not going to give it a personal recommendation but something to consider as an alternative.

As a welder, you should be able to easily change this rear catalytic convertor and change back, if required.

2 hours ago, campbeam said:

Similar to yourself I have previously reviewed a number of threads on this Forum about this Y pipe modification. I understand that the torque curve mores more towards the top end.  This does not suit my driving style and conditions where I prefer more torque in the lower rev band.

I made particular note of 1 post where the member did this modification then changed it back to factory standard.

End result is that I upgraded the rear catalytic convertor to a high flow one. Not going to give it a personal recommendation but something to consider as an alternative.

As a welder, you should be able to easily change this rear catalytic convertor and change back, if required.

Appreciate the feedback!