2013 camry Atara R oil change

TONEDEAF2

8 hours ago, TONEDEAF2 said:

Hi, I have a 2013 Camry Atara R with 150000 on the clock and was wondering, what would be the best grade of oil to put in on my next oil change ?.

5w-30 my friend. Your owners handbook will explain this if you have one.

I would always recommend using a high quality fully synthetic oil too. No need to spend too much either if you keep an eye out on oil specials regularly dished out by the usual outlets, such as Supercheap, Repco and Autobarn, you can pick up a bargain. 

I try and advocate for supporting local business and hence my personal recommendation for oil brands would be Penrite or Nulon. I know there are other fancier brands, but it's your choice. When on special, you can save up to 40% off regular retail. In this case, you can do what some of us do and stock up while the getting is good.

I've been using Nulon in my Aurion for many years and it's coming up to 150K on the ODO and my engine is pristine internally. No varnish or sludge build up at all. testament to the ongoing quality of the Nulon brand.

I will also recommend you change your oil between every 5k to 8k (max 10K) to prevent any potential for sludge build up, especially if you do lots of short trips. 
Do not follow the stupid log book service intervals of 15K !! That is a trap many fall into and engine damage (high varnish and sludge) can occur because many will never change the oil on time and this tends to lead into complacency and in effect end up doing oil changes at a much higher interval than the already stupid 15k interval.

So stock up on oil when it's on sale, get yourself some quality oil filters and there's no excuse not to do regular oil changes if you are a DIY kind of person.

All the best :thumbsup:

49 minutes ago, TONEDEAF2 said:

I have also noticed, since the last oil change(done by a garage using hi-tec 10w-30) that my car is now using some oil. Could this be because of the type of oil ?