95 Celica going - what to do?

JackM

Ok guys, here's the deal.

Last year I got a beautifful emerald pearl green ST204R. It had 365K on the clock so I got a good price. Six months later the selector cable broke, no warranty. $1000 all up to get the part imported and fitted, you know how hard it is to find parts for this car. There's a hole in the nose from a Camry muffler, and now it's mistiming and something else is up with the clutch, no idea what. It prolly needs $500-1000 of work to get it back in something like prime condition.

So what do you think my options are? I'm looking at a nice mk3 Supra next weekend - very similar body to the ST184 but a 3L twin turbo ... I'm also thinking of an FTO or a Nissan 180SX but the Supra is the most affordable. Any other options you guys can think of? I'm pretty much a car newby and I'm no mechanic though I'm willing to learn. Engine swap? I don't like the 5SFE a lot, it's great compared to many cars but not for a Celica as you all know ... Recondition? Fix it? Recommends on a new ride?

Any suggestions would be most appreciated. BTW there's prolly a 95 Celica for sale here ... :)

Thanks in advance,

Jack M

• 2 weeks later...

Anyone? Come on please, I'm counting on you guys!

The Supra is still looking good though I haven't driven it yet, it's needed some work. 1989 GA70, JDM 2L twin turbo (not 3L), going for $7,700. What do you guys reckon?

Any comments much appreciated.

Jack

ok the supra u talkin bout has 1ggte a 2.0 twin turbo and combined with the weight of the mk3 isnt anything special... even with mods its always gona be '1 step behind'. im not saying you cant make a quick car but itll always be behind the 7mgte 3l model. + the turbos arent considered reliable especially in a car which is somewhat old.

id get a 180sx sr20det out of those options above. fto's arent really anything special.