Rav4 Highway usage

Ben Casey

I'm doing some research on a new mid sized SUV in the next 6-12 months.

I like the interior of the subaru but am attracted to the RAV4 hybrid and Toyota ownership in general (solid warranty and very competitive service pricing)

I live in the NT and for the short to medium term at least most of the driving would be a mix of 110 to 130km/h down the highway.

Can anyone give me an indicator of the gains to be had or lost with a hybrid with 90% being down the highway.

For research purposes, I use both RedBook [pricing and specifications] and the Australian Car Reviews [problems and recalls] websites.

Please note that I have no real world experience driving a hybrid vehicle.

A significant factor is that more and more of Toyota sales are for the hybrid models and I believe that it is driven by fuel economy plus increased performance.

Being "old school", I am a late adopter of new technology. What i have noticed is that there has been a significant improvement/upgrade in the battery pack within the last 12 months so that has addressed one important factor of battery longevity.

You will probably find that the hybrid models only come with a CVT instead of a 6 or 8 speed auto transmission. In the new Corollas, the CVT now has a fixed 1st gear to take the strain off the belts in the CVT from a standing start. Presumably, the electric motors in the hybrid RAV4 model will be providing the same benefit hopefully resulting in longevity of the CVT. At least, the Toyota CVT has a better track record than the earlier JATCO CVT transmissions fitted to Nissans etc. 

https://www.wheels.ca/top-ten/seven-shifty-transmissions-to-avoid/

Furthermore, my research [so far] is indicating that a CVT when it develops problems is going to be replaced instead of repaired. Consequently as a used car buyer, I would be more likely to consider the more recent hybrid models than those prior to say 2018 or 2019.