Engine Replacement RA40

Wil

Hi all...

Just picked up a very straight '78 RA40 LT2000 Coupe with one flaw... The previous owner cooked the 18RC engine, badly. One cylinder barely reaches 30psi on a compression test and the others aren't much better...

So, i need a new engine. Being a 19yo uni student my budget isn't great but what i'm wondering is this: Does anyone know of an engine that will bolt straight in to replace the 18R and be compatible with the existing 5spd manual box? I'm also looking to take this oppertunity to convert the car to unleaded, and any increase in performance is always welcome. Will other R block engines work (i.e. the 20R or the 22R) or will i need to find something like a newer 18R or 18RG?

Any pointers on vehicles that carry(ied) such engines and costs involved in procuring such an engine would also be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Wil Campbell

where do you live if you live in oz sydney, pick n pay less in blacktown have a engine from a celica from the year 79, i have know idea on what the exact name of the engine (ra40), all i saw was a sign saying "$300 celica 79' ". or you can do what i did and put a 13b in there,

later

Thanks for the heads up, but i'm in perth...

Kewel as it sounds, i don't think i'm @ the level where i want to be installing rotaries. A 1G-GE conversion may be on the horizon however... @ the moment my objective is to get rolling, and i'll take it from there. Any advice re: the RA40? Rotary conversion must've been interesting...

Peace,

Wil

Wil,

I would look at either a 1gge / 1ggte or possibly have a search on: Toymods as the engine conversion topic has been covered HEAPS.....

There's probably other engines that you Could fit... eg 1jzgte etc etc but it all depends on how much time and money you're willing to spend.

Not much money, plenty of time...