Replace Struts/Shockers on a 1991 Corolla Hatch

Hi All.

My 1991 corolla is handling poorly and the shockers are to blame, plus the steering rack, but that is another story.

I am going to refit them with my brother, but as I have never done this before, I was wondering if there are any special tools required to do this change over.

I would source a SR manual, but the one I ordered from Ebay hasn't arrived yet and I searched the TOC forum for a similar topic but to no avail.

My mate a while back replaced all four struts on his Camry which required a spring compressor, a special tool which held the spring in a shortened position until the exchange was complete. That was a much larger vehicle, however my Corolla hatch is much smaller in comparison.

I know that a tension/torque wrench is an in valuable tool for this job, but unsure if the spring compressor is...

Also I was wondering if a special tool was needed to hold the chromed shaft of the strut whilst tightening of nyloc nut on the top of the strut?

I would think there would be, because if vise grips were used these would score the functional part of the shaft, which travels into the cylinder, destroying the strut cylinder seals in short succession.

I appreciate your input.

DMC

you WILL need compressors as the stock springs sit in the strut with a great deal of load on them as they are compressed to be installed. Undoing the shaft without the compressors is really dangerous... the bloke that taught me about my suspension and how to change bits and bobs broke 4 ribs as a result of trying to get by without the spring compressors.

It's a very easy job but you will find trouble when trying to remove the strut shaft nuts.. if you do get them undone you will need to take them to someone with a rattle gun so that they are nice and tight. removal of the entire unit is very simple:

Front: 3 X Strut top bolts at 12mm a side

2 X 19mm Nuts and Bolts on the hub knuckle