Newbie Intro & some questions on HJ47 & FJ45's

MikTylor

Hi all

I've joined here to pick the brains of folk for the purpose of being as prepared as possible for a planned resto / build project for myself & my two sons to sink our teeth into.

I'm currently living in Orange NSW but will soon be relocating to somewhere on the mid / north coast of NSW. I have travelled extensivly around Australia & my background is a fitter machinist by trade. I have a pretty good selection of tools & equipment for the task at hand although mostly general hand tools, nothing really specific to car restoration.

I have done some painting & very light / rough & ready panel repair work before & know the basics but for a great finish to that side of things I will be asking questions wherever I can when I get to those stages.

Being in my mid 40's I have seen alot, done alot & know nothing! :)

I've chosen the FJ45 or HJ47 as the vehicle for our resto for several reasons, firstly at the tender age of 12 I learnt to drive in outback NSW in a near new FJ45 that belonged to my father. Over the years I loved that ute to death, literaly & a few years ago I was crushed to learn that the same identical vehicle had come up for auction & of course I was flat broke, it went for $500 & I still lament about it today.

I have an idea in my head of bringing one up to a nice tidy ute with some mod cons. I don't want to do a full & faithful resto but I do want the look & memories from yesteryear to pass onto my boys.

What I'd like to find out from experienced people here is what I should be looking for BEFORE I purchase. I figure if I outline what I'm hoping to acheive then hopefully someone here will take pity on my sentimental heart & throw me a few ideas.

So, not really knowing which of the two models are best suited to the task the first thing is which one?