96 hiace hiccups

96 hiace

Hello there, newbie here. I have an excellent 1996 Hiace (ex Telstra) 2.4 petrol efi that generally drives very well. I could not find out about its history, but with 260,000 on the clock and the oil always very clean (never goes dark black), I wondered if it was a recon engine or just good Telstra maintenance.

Anyway, several months ago, there was a bit of a stutter, when accelerating after slowing down for a roundabout for instance and going up some hills in 2nd or 3rd gear. If you back off on the accelerator, the problem gets better. A mechanic said it sounded like plugs so we put some new ones in and it helped a bit. But lately it has got worse again and I wondering what it could be. I originally said to the mechanic that it felt like fuel feed or something like that. So these are the possibilities I am speculating about:

1. Fuel feed/fuel injection system.

2. Spark plugs and/or plug leads.

3. Cam belt - have no idea when it was last done - no history on the car.

4. Fuel filter.

I get a consistent 8.3 kms per litre with this car since owning it for 4 months - with aircon on or off - does not seem to impact on fuel consumption. I have had other Toyota vans though and I am sure from memory that they ran alot leaner, around 10k's/litre.

One other query, can anyone recommend the best place for reasonably priced spares on the Sunshine Coast, Qld. And a good mechanic for Hiaces?

Thanks for your attention!

I would say its one of the following that you suggested and you should do these to eliminate

1. Fuel Filter

2. Leads and dizzy cap / rotor arm

3. Fuel pump

4. injectors (i assume its an injection and not carbs?)

5. Air Sensors (not sure on this vehicle what sensors you have)

• 2 weeks later...