[DIY] Foglight install with OEM stalk

Kenneth.

Hey everyone,

Thought I'd make a good contribution back to this forum after all the help I've gotten from here. This is my first DIY, but I hope you find it useful..

Disclaimer: I'm not an electrician or an authorized Toyota installer. This is what worked for me. I am in no way responsible for you breaking, burning or otherwise destroying your car. If corrections need to be made to this guide, I will do so in my spare time. Feel free to PM me with suggestions/corrections/questions.

Now that's out of the way, on to the good stuff.

Background info:

The Yaris comes pre-wired ready for fogs from the factory. So it makes it a lot simpler to install a foglight kit, pretty much plug and play.

What you need:

1x foglight kit (comes with L&R fog lamps, 2x bulbs, 1x harness, 1x push switch, screws, and 2x 06-08 shrouds)

1x custom factory style harness (to make it all literally plug and play)

1x narva micro relay (p/n 68062BL)

1x OEM light stalk with Fog dial (p/n 84140-52110 (06-08) OR 84140-52090 (09))

1x pair of OEM fog shrouds (09 Yaris only, p/n 81481-52330 (right) and 81482-52260 (left))

---

1x socket wrench

1x 150mm extension

1x 19mm socket

1x 10mm socket

1x T30 torx bit or screwdriver

1x philips screwdriver

1x small flathead screw driver

1x steering wheel puller set (optional)

1x packet of larger zip ties

Bit of masking tape & a marker

Instructions:

Engine bay side //

---

1. Park your car and make sure your steering is straight. Disconnect the negative on your battery before doing anything. Leave it for atleast 90 seconds before proceeding to step 2. The reason is the airbag has a backup power source which activates for 1minute 30seconds after your main power is gone.

DSC03374_800x450.jpg

negative disconnected