Issue with Mechanic

Leaping Tortoise

Hey all. Yesterday I put in my 2000 Toyota Avalon Conquest into the local mechanic. There were some leaks that they patched up (2 Rocker Gaskets needed to be replaced and they also replaced the Cam and Timing belts (timing belt had only been replaced 5000km ago). After I got the car back, I drove it home, and every so often it'd give off a big clunk. Once every so often, but getting more frequent after a few minutes.

I took the car back to the mechanics, where they said it was probably just a little water getting in the way from when they washed the engine (Hosed it down). So, after a day of waiting for them to tell me to come and pick it up, I called them and they told me that it was actually the spark plugs, and they'd replaced them with platinum spark plugs and a nice $200 fee (on top of the $800 they charged yesterday).

I have two questions, first: Is it absolutely essential to use the platinum spark plugs on an avalon? I'm a student, and this $800 repair has already put me under enormous financial strain. I'm wondering whether there's a cheaper (without going too dodgy) option.

Second, is it possible that the mechanics did something wrong and ruined the plugs? Given that the problem occurred almost instantly after I got it back, it seems.... a little suspicious (I took my old car to a different mechanic where everything was a huge problem that'd take several thousand dollars to fix, and it'd always come back with a new problem that had "nothing to do with what we were working on," so I decided to go with these guys for the new car).

Thanks for any help you can provide.

-Leaping.