Purchased a 1997 Manual Vienta Touring

Fizza

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to the forum. After some searching I recently managed to pick up a 1997 Vienta Touring for just $3700 on the road. I bought it privately and from the onset I exercised a considerable amount of caution due to the low price. It was advertised for around $4300 but I somehow managed to bargain it down.

For $3700 it included the following:

RWC and full 12 months registration. It was a one owner with a fully documented service history serviced every 5000km.

The car has done 180,000km. He had the major service done not so long ago and has put a brand new battery and four brand new tyres. Car has never been in an accident and has always been garaged. Hence all these enticing things combined were the very things that caused me to be a little suspicious at the beginning. However rather suprisingly it turned out not to be the case as the guy seemed quite genuine and very organised. The car also actually turned out to be in excellent condition both inside and out. When test driving the car I took it for a real spin and onto the freeway as well. The gearbox is tight and precise while the engine is velvety smooth right throughout the rev range. At cruising speed the cabin is hush with no perceptible sound from the engine. It seems to really come alive more in the midrange.

For this particular model it comes with driver's side airbag, ABS, keyless entry, CD player, leather streering wheel, leather gearknob, leather handbrake, upgraded sports suspension and rear spoiler. This generation Camry's fit and finish is actually quite good. My brother has the generation 4 camry 2.2 and somehow the interior plastic fit and finish and trim doesn't seem to be quite as good as the generation 3. However this is only my subjective perception.