Replacing Cigarette Lighter on a Camry

mercthunder

Hi guys. So i was on a lengthy trip to Jervis bay when all of a sudden my car stereo and car cigarette lighter stopped working. The fuse had blown, so i replaced the fuse, and all was good again for about 5 minutes, when the new fuse i had just inserted decided to blow again. Once i again i replaced the fuse, only to have it blow again within seconds. I believe my cigarette lighter is faulty, as it is loose and causing some sort of short circuit which keeps blowing the fuse.

I was wondering if anyone here knows how i can remove the cigarette lighter, and replace it with a new one, on a 1997 Toyota Camry CSI?

Would appreciate any help or instructions. I am a total car newbie, and trying to save myself some money by taking it to a mechanic.

Cheers

If you pull of the Facia panel around your stereo etc the lighter will come out with it.

however Iv'e had my lighter go loose on me before and it never caused any shorts and is a really simple job to tighten it back up (it just screws together).

If I were to guess I'd say it's probably not the lighter itself causing the short and more likely a wiring issue.

If you have an aftermarket stereo installed I'd guess it's not earthing properly and causing the short.

Yeah they both run on the same circuit, i think from memory the valet/dome light is on that ciruit as well. I wouldnt take it to a Mechanic for that. If don't have much experience, might be wise to take it to an Auto Electrician. But as Rel said, most likely be in the stereo wiring.

Edited by trentmeyer23

If you pull of the Facia panel around your stereo etc the lighter will come out with it.

however Iv'e had my lighter go loose on me before and it never caused any shorts and is a really simple job to tighten it back up (it just screws together).

If I were to guess I'd say it's probably not the lighter itself causing the short and more likely a wiring issue.