Steering Knocking Sound (2008 Rav4 CV Auto)

Azza

I have a 01/08 Rav4 CV Auto, and done around 28,000kms and the past few weeks have started to notice a knocking sound on left turns.

To date, the sound only appears when making a left.

Not regular, rather often.

Can be felt through the steering wheel as well as heard audibly.

Does not matter how much of a turn is being made.

I am normally pretty good at finding these problems, but have not come up with anything yet. Will be taking it in to Toyota one day next week after Easter, just thought I would ask if anyone could think of anything else to look for...

I'm no mechanic but have had enough mechanically impaired vehicles to know that sound.

Generally that noise is the CV joints, especially as the Ravs run as front wheel drives.

The mechanics should find that issue pretty quickly and generally its not a very time consuming exercise to replace as once its up on the stands access is easy to replace them.

You shouldn't be out of pocket too severely for its repair.

• 5 months later...

• 3 weeks later...
  • 2 months later...
This is a known problem with the "Steering Intermediate Shaft" in 2006-2008 models and a TSB has been issued by Toyota in the USA:

http://www.rav4world.com/tsb/2008/T-SB-0318-08.pdf

got our 06 cruise L a month ago and have picked up on this noise... wonder if toyota still cover it as its just out of warranty

• 2 years later...