vibration problem toyota corolla 1993

stewy

Hi everyone. I have a:

Toyota ae92 corolla CSi LTD HATCHBACK 1993 automatic

Everytime I put my foot on the brake at the lights (car still in Drive), I feel and hear this loud shuddering vibration from the engine. The shaking permeates through the steering wheel, pedals and dashboard; and quite often the shaking is so bad that even the drivers seat shudders as well. However, the vibrations reduce to a minimum when i put the car in Neutral or Park.

The vibration do not occur during driving but sometimes during take off.

I have heard that the issue could be related to the engine mountings, but I have personally checked (not that Im an expert) by stepping on the brake and accelerator at the same time to see if the engine shakes violently - and it does not. Is there another method of checking the engine mounts?

I have also heard that the problem could be caused by the distributor and leads. I have just replaced the distributor rotor and cap and leads, but the car still vibrates. As a result I have put my old distributor cap and leads back in, but kept the new rotor (returned the new cap and leads i bought). The spark plugs were only recently changed.

The engine idles at around 900rpm so I don't think its a tuning problem.

Any ideas anyone?

The car has done about 140 000 kms.

Thanks heaps ;)

Hey

Have a look at your exhaust.... are any parts touching the body?

There is no way in hell that an exhaust touching the body could produce vibrations like that

Engine/transmission mounts would be the first thing I check, if they're fine then it could be that the transmission itself has troubles (evident that it occurs in drive when stopped but not neutral or park). If so, I'd take it to an auto tranny expert, most likely not something you can diagnose or fix yourself.

Hi thanks for replying.