Advise in managing march 2005 Toyota Camry with 1MZFE

K8Canb

I was in a process of replacing my aging Toyota Camry Vienta V6 April 1995 which has clocked 215000 kms, but still going strong.

Today, I went into Pickles auction in Canberra and saw Aurion and Camry 4 cyl cars (I have been a Toyota man all the time. I was dreaming of buying Aurion Sportivo, however, I was intimidated by the height of the cars and visibility of the front, I thought that I will bruise bumpers or even doors while parking these cars. I am now approaching 70 years and my reflexes have slowed also I get scarfed to park in car parks (particularly at clubs, also self maintaining old Camry is always easy compared to Aurion or new Camry 4 Cyl. I decided to stick to Camry V6 and bought in auction a Toyota Camry march 2005 with 1MZFe motor. The car has done 97K and is in good condition.

As I am new to 1MZFE, I seek some advice on dos and don'ts to 1MZFE. Also I have heard that this motor had sludge problems. May be there were some other problems which may have been ironed out by now.

Please educate me about 2005 Camry with 1MZFE. Also where can I download workshop manual for 1MZFE?

K8Canb

If you are getting a bit older, my advice would be getting a smaller car like a Corolla(if it fits your needs), for easy of parking etc. My Pop went front a big Falcon to a V6 Vienta similar to mine. He loves it too.

However the 1MZ is a very relaible engine, as long as there is an oil flush put through during services then all should be fine, especially with only 97000km. Try ebay for the workshop manual, try and get a comprehensive one like a Haynes or Gregory's, trust me they are worth it.

Edited by trentmeyer23