?? What type of do I have

5th Gen Convertible

I have two 1992 Celica's. The latest one I have recently purchased is a fully imported from Japan and is a convertible. Hopefully there is a picture as I am not good at this.

The other 1992 liftback I have had for 10 years and just love it. It has SX on it but the convertible has no markings whatsoever on the body of it. I do think it has an engine 3S-GE only by trying to work it out. Not based on anything reliable. The Vin # has ST183 in the it.

The engine has Toyota Twin Cam 16. That is all I can find. There are several features on this car that I do not understand.

1. There is a little sensor on the dash right in the corner of the windscreen on the passenger side.

2. 4WS and 2WS button.

3. Sports and Normal Button

All of the above I do not have on my other car, so they are unfarmilar to me and I am asking for help. I need to say, that I am female and only know how to fill it up with fuel but I am interested in the model etc.

Thanks H

.post-1719-1137587980_thumb.jpg

Edited by 5th Gen Convertible

does the car have climate control? if so i would say thats what the sensor is for.

4WS and 2WS could be four wheel steer and two wheel steer, meaning that whenever you select 4WS all four wheels will turn when the steering wheel is turned. very handy for parking!

Sports and Normal, well i guess its just different modes for the engine, i guess sports is just a little quicker and uses more fuel.

as for the car itself, that model celica in Aus were called ST184 or ST185 for the GT4's. i assume ST183 would be the name of the convertible. celica's in oz came out with 2 engines as far as i know, a 2ltr 3S-GE (3S-GTE in the GT4) and a 2.2ltr 5S-FE. i would assume your other celica has a 5S-FE in it. but if the engine has Toyota Twin Cam 16 on it i would think its only a 1.6ltr engine, and i think i read somewhere that the convertibles in japan did come out with only a 1.6.