Android versus WinCE head units

michaelcocks

Hi Guys

Newbie here...

Just bought a 2007 Prodigy as a shared car with myself and my son. It's our 6th Toyota - They just seem to be totally reliable cars...In the current stable we have a Toyota Corolla Ascent Sport 2016, (wife's car) and I have a Toyota Aurion Presara 2012 (going up for sale as the shared Prodigy is replacing it) ...My son also has a 1989 MR2 - which is really just for occasional driving pleasure (my wife doesn't like him driving it as it's got no safety features at all, hopefully he use the Prodigy as a daily driver and the MR2 for track days only (yep it's had lot's of work done....) 

We are thinking about upgrading to bluetooth (I need this on a daily basis) as the car does seem to have it (unless I am missing something) -although very strangely there is a bluetooth icon on the standard head unit, but it never lights up - I can see it... I looked at the external bluetooth units but the for 1$100 just to get Bluetooth and nothing else seems a bit of a waste when you can get a head unit with GPS, Bluetooth, reverse camera, A2DP, et etc for ~250-300. Then of course theres the Andoid units which seem to be around $500

I saw lots of discussion around the Android units and in particular the Eonon. What has been the long term experiences..

What about the guys running the cheaper WinCE - Any long term comments.

I have read most of the excitement that was around when these first released, but was more interested in the long term prognosis on these?

Many thanks in advance 

Michael