Remote turbo mount?

I was browsing newcelica.org website last night, and I read a post regarding this remote turbo mount. What it meant by remote, is the turbo is not on the engine bay, but its after the catalytic converter and in most application (or probably all) it pratically replaces the muffler.

I thought "WOW"

http://www.ststurbo.com <--- this is where you guys can have a read about it, they even have Australian office too.

Okay, not gonna be debating and please don't start debate, let it be a good ol' discussion of knowledge here. Some say it works on big cc car, but they have integra type R running this turbo set up and show mad horsepower results (magazine review).

As far as I know (and i am not a turbo expert here, I'm learning), turbo needs heat for the air to expand and make the turbo spool. The closer to the engine the faster compressed air charges in. This set up break that rule due to their remote mounting - far from engine results less heat and longer airpath. Yet they claim there is no lag. Results are posted on that website.

Now if this thing truly works, the benefit is that you don't have to make turbo manifold at all and you don't have to face heat problem inside engine bay (remember Petir celica? It melts the steering racks due to heat problem due to heat problem). Arguebly, you probably ended up spending less for a turbo set up.

How cool.

Interesting stuff. I've seen similar concept in use on V8's with stealth twin turbo installation but never seen this used on a small engine.

I was under that same understanding that you want the turbine close to the engine for better turbo response (Due to gas travelling faster when it's hotter).

If these claims are true, it can only be all good. The longer distance from the turbo to the intake also means that the air would have more distance to cool down, so in theory a smaller intercooler would suffice.

EDIT: Actually after reading they state you don't need an intercooler at all.

Edited by IZZ-FE