Shift Light Install by theDefiant1

theDefiant1

Hi all,

I received my shift-i, and have drawn up an installation manual for the Corolla. There are a few ways to install the unit; the method I have used and explained here is for an instrument cluster hook-up (don’t need such long wires). You can also connect the terminals to the ECU. There is info on how to do this – do a search on “ECU” and “shift light” for instructions on how to get to the ECU and appropriate ECU pinouts respectively.

I recommend reading through this whole guide before you start.

I have never done anything like this before, so I’m pretty chuffed that it worked right the first time. Feel most free to PM with praise. Oh yeah, and feel free to PM with any questions. 

Step 1: Remove meter hood sub-assembly (bracket)

There is a screw just under the hood projection (see photo). Use a Phillips to unscrew it. The screw won’t actually screw-out – loosen it, then pull it out (yank). There is a photo of the screw in photo 3.

gallery_3415_329_13923.jpg

Then yank the bottom of the bracket towards you. The clip holding the top of the hood in (where the screw was), will pop out. Take care not to scratch the face of the instrument cluster. The whole unit should come out

gallery_3415_329_99925.jpg

gallery_3415_329_33238.jpg

Step 2: Remove combination meter

With a Phillips, unscrew the top screw holding the meter in place. Support the meter, because it will dance around once the screw is out. At this point I would put some insulating tape around the metal bracket so that it won’t scratch the panel face (I did). There are two clips at the bottom of the meter – push them forward to release them (make absolutely sure you are holding the meter). Then unplug the 2 junction boxes – one on each side of the centre.

gallery_3415_329_62759.jpg

gallery_3415_329_32429.jpg

Step 3: Identify the correct cables to splice

There are 40 wires to choose from. You want pinouts 2, 4 and 19.