Gen 3 Camry Project Car

Token

Hey peeps,

My lil bro has killed (and i mean absolutely killed) his gen 3 camry.

hers a brief list of the problems

- no dash lights

- immobilizer broken

- the radio is missing (there is a huge hole in the dash)

- one of the tail lights doesn't work

- leaking head gasket

- cracked radiator

- front struts soft (whats this mean? )

- coolant overflow bottle cracked

- oil filter cap broken

- belts oil contaminated

- L/H power steering boot split (whats this mean? )

Now we are considering fixing this car up, possibly putting a 3S-GTE engine into it ( a friend has sourced one for me, and as far as i know its complete with exhaust and transmission), giving it a bit of a spruce up ( interior and exterior ) and generally making it into a project car for a bit of fun without breaking the bank.

I have no experience in car modifications ( being a sports bike rider, heck i don't even know what some the problems listed above mean ) and would like some opinions on whether or not this is a good idea, on a rather tight budget. Also how reliable is the car likely to be after dropping the new engine in, how much should i expect to pay for the mods, and whats the likely resale value of this sort of car (i know kms and condition will come into it)?

Any opinions will be warmly welcomed

Hey peeps,

My lil bro has killed (and i mean absolutely killed) his gen 3 camry.

hers a brief list of the problems

- no dash lights

- immobilizer broken

- the radio is missing (there is a huge hole in the dash)

- one of the tail lights doesn't work

- leaking head gasket

- cracked radiator

- front struts soft (whats this mean? )

- coolant overflow bottle cracked

- oil filter cap broken

- belts oil contaminated

- L/H power steering boot split (whats this mean? )