Can the Rav4 go on the beach

darrens

Hi All,

I have just purchased a new Rav4 and was wondering if anyone has taken it to the beach, if so how did it manage.. how much air did you let out the tires etc..

Sorry if it seems I am asking stupid questions but I am new to soft 4X4.

Thanks

Hi All,

I have just purchased a new Rav4 and was wondering if anyone has taken it to the beach, if so how did it manage.. how much air did you let out the tires etc..

Thanks

Yes they can go on the beach but remember your ground clearance is quite limited compared to say a Hilux, Landcruiser etc.

As far as tyre pressures go drop them to about 17-22psi as a guide. Softer sand may require slightly less pressures but most tyres fitted to a RAV wont like running at these pressures for long. So carry a portable air compressor and pump them up once your through a soft area.

General driving on the beach should be relatively straight forward. But try to do it at low tide. High tide will be harder especially when you are higher on the beach in the softer stuff and minimual ground clearance. Most tracks so long as they dont have really high centres should be ok but be prepared to drag your guts in a some spots as things like the exhaust and some plastic shrouds do hang a bit low.

Good luck and post up saome pics when you get out on the beach.

cheers SB

Hi All,

Thanks

Yes they can go on the beach but remember your ground clearance is quite limited compared to say a Hilux, Landcruiser etc.

As far as tyre pressures go drop them to about 17-22psi as a guide. Softer sand may require slightly less pressures but most tyres fitted to a RAV wont like running at these pressures for long. So carry a portable air compressor and pump them up once your through a soft area.