TRD Aurion Love Affair

TRD Aurion Quandary

I have just purchased my first Toyota ever at the age of 48 and it is a TRD Aurion. I looked at XR6s and FPVs, 50 different configurations of Commodore, Mercedes Benz C280 and several other potential vehicles. I needed a cruiser with grunt and style to replace my Nissan Skyline R34 which, alas, did not suit my executive image anymore (apparently according to the wife!). By way of background, I am an ex race car driver and had my best successes in front wheel drive things.

The dealer where I finally purchased the 3500SL with sat nav, roof and everything, literally paid me to take the car away. I am certain this is partly due to the eternal bashing that this car has received. They were astounded that anyone even turned up to look at the car let alone, depositing the "Cyril Ash" into their bank account the next day! I am pretty sure they would have paid the towing fees if I had asked for this.

Now, I am not one to blog let me assure you all. In this instance though, I think the record needs to be straightened by someone who has actually driven and owned this fantastic vehicle, and who has some small understanding of such things. It is my opinion that this car has the potential to gain "cult status". The build quality is as high as the Merc that I almost purchased (phew). It matches it for comfort, appointment and overall "bling factor" at nearly half the price. I have owned a lot of cars, and let me tell you, this TRD turns heads. I have had several people stop me and ask; "mate, what's that?" Kids walk by whispering; "wow, a TRD maaannnn".