Setting the gain on my amp/sub

DJKOR

Excuse me if this is a bit long, but I can't help it when I need to write stuff up. Anyways, when it comes to audio, I'm not all that knowledgeable. I know all the wiring and the basics of getting it running, but when it comes to driving it to do what it has the potential to do, I usually get scared of blowing something up.

So in my car I have an MTX 300W Monoblock driving a MTX Sledgehammer 7500 which is rated at 400W. Firstly I know that I probably should have gone for an amp rated at 400W, but I didn't want to push my luck (MTX also says an amp between 200W-400W will be suitable). Anyways, I have been using it for a few months already and I keep getting the feeling that this subwoofer has much more potential than what I get out of it. Now I'm not looking to run it at full bore all the time; just every so often when there is good song. Anyways, its hard to say how hard I push it, but the best way to describe it is that at most, I run it at a level which makes the parcel shelf and spoiler buzz lightly. occasionally my sunglasses in the overhead holder as well.

The sub itself doesn't really show much excursion when I it is running at a level that I think is high. Just to give an idea, this is the amp and sub that I am using:

Subwoofer - MTX T7512-44 (Tech Specs) in Sledgehammer enclosure:

mtxqn7.th.jpg 52654xb5.th.jpg

Amplifier - MTX Thunder 300XD:

amprt4.th.jpg