Amp and Sub wiring help

mart3y

hey,

i'm new to the whole car audio system thing and i just have a few questions about wiring up my sub and amp.

firstly, i got the sub and amp off a mate, so no cables or anything included.

the amp is a pioneer gm-3200t, so thats a 300W max 2 channel. (1 x 150 W (bridged))

the sub is a pioneer ts-w256C 800W max (350W RMS).

what guage wire should i be using... 4 or 8, i may upgrade sometime down the track.

and will an amp wiring kit have everything i need in it? (i'd say it would, but is there anything extra i may need that i dont know about?)

oh and if it helps, my headunit is a: pioneer DEH-3050UB and my car is a 1996 toyota paseo

any help or tips would be awesome, thanks.

Martin

An amplifier wiring kit should have everything you need inside, but I usually steer away from these. I usually like to get everything individually and not in a pack, but that's because I am all DIY with my electrical stuff. So when it comes to wiring up a subwoofer (with the amplifier in the boot), the basics you will need are:

- Approximately 4 to 5 metres of power cable. Doesn't hurt to have spare, so 5 metres should be sufficient. 0.5 metres of this will be used for your amplifier to ground. It's also good to have extra since sometimes you need to run the cable a little different to plan and may need that extra length.

- 1 x 5AG fuse holder and fuse (40A would be good)

- 5 metre length of stereo RCA lead

- Approximately 5 metres of thin gauge wire (normal speaker wire will do), to provide the turn on voltage for the amplifier.

- A few ring and spade/fork terminals for connecting to battery, ground, and amplifier.

- 10 gauge speaker wire (whatever length you need to get from amp to sub)