My new Corolla got scratches: What should I do?

Hi guys,

I am from Sydney and a newbie here, just found this forum through browsing. I hope you guys can help to give me your input to my problem. :(

Posted the same topic in General Discussion but since this sub forum is more popular and my new car is still a Corolla I thought this is still related and I am hoping to get more replies and views from you guys ...

You also can reply here:

http://au.toyotaownersclub.com/forums/inde...?showtopic=2253

Here is my story:

I just bought a new Corolla Ascent and when I would like to pick it up last weekend, I found that there are scratches around the door handles (on every single door). I have been told that this is a new car and I paid for the new price but I suspect that this is a demo car.

Could it be the case? How do I differentiate between demo car and new car?

The scratches are pretty obvious from close inspection but the dealer kept saying that there are not any scratches. Now the dealer agreed to polish the car (even though the salesman has tried to polish it while I am there) but I am still afraid that this is NOT a new car. I haven't seen the car again after the polishing and I had refused to pay them the full amount until I see it again. But I really have doubts now whether to proceed with this transaction .... :(

Do you guys have/heard any similar situation before? Is this normal to pay 20K +++ and you didn't get a "smooth" new car? Should I ask for another new car? or should I just forfeit my deposit and get another new car from another dealer????

This dealer seemed a bit dodgy to me after they said they can't see the scratches ...

Talked to the manager also. Actually the salesman admitted that he saw the scratches and that's why he tried to polished them. But it was unsuccessful.

But only when the manager came out he then turn around his thinking and said that he sees no scratches also.