Do coilovers still scrub?

mikka

Hi there.

I'm looking to put some 20"s on my new acquisition and whilst I've read all the posts on scrubbing when going to 20"s I thought I would try to summarise the issues and get those in the know to check if I've got it right, I'm also aware of the wheel offset calculator but I just wanted to put it in words. Please bear in mind I am a deadset novice in the wheel and suspension department

So far as I can tell

1. Offset of > 45 with 20"s (8.5" wide or greater) will give you scrubbing on the inside of the wheel regardless of lowering

2. Offset of < 35 with 20"s (8.5" wide or greater) will potentially give you scrubbing on the outside guard when lowered

3. Lowering with springs (Kings or Pedders) with 20"s and a profile of >30 (i.e. 35 and above) will potentially give you scrubbing on the top of the inside guard even with offset of >30<45

4. Coilovers alleviate the guard scrubbing issue due to their ability to set the ride height and suspension hardness settings but if going for a profile of >30 you may need to set the ride height higher than you would get from lower springs to avoid scrubbing

So ideally if you're looking to go to 20"s you should ensure that you go for an offset of >30<45 and if you want to avoid the top of the inside guard scrubbing issue you should use 30 profile tyres if lowering with springs or go with coilovers if you want to use a profile >30

Did I get that right?

Yeah you pretty much got it...the only offset i can talk about on 20" with any experiance is +45 (haven't used +30,not sure weather they would fit anyway).Also tyre width plays a big part,245mm wide scrub more as opposed to 235mm wide.