2012 Aurion speedo out

Sean K

Hey guys... i own a 2012 aurion sx6 and i have been driving a around for just over 2 years with my aftermarket rims and tires (245/45/18)

I decided to put my old stocks rims and tires back on (215/55/17) and my speedo is now out by 3km/h. I sit on 80 im doing 77 and at 100 im doing the same 3 km down,

does any one know why?

So you don't lose your license. Nearly every speedo is out from factory, and shows you going faster than you are.

Works better for the Manufacturer as you can't blame them if you get caught speeding, and you appear to get better economy even if it's only slight.

You're aftermarket rims/tires were larger overall than the factory, so they might have made up the difference to having your speedo read 100% true.

• Like 1

The placebo effect is great. And it's even better when you know it's placebo effect, but the knowledge doesn't stop it!
I find it pretty satisfying setting the cruise control a few klicks above the limit number, though I know I'm bang on the limit, looking at the needle being that bit over just feels satisfying.
The downside is when you're stuck behind a slow driver, and you know that they're even slower than they think they are.

I use the speed readout from the aftermarket GPS that is in my Aurion, to accurately set the cruise control at 99 -100 kph on the open road. It is interesting to note that many drivers are travelling at around 5 kph below the limit, and I am sure they are not aware of it.

It is interesting to note that many drivers are travelling at around 5 kph below the limit, and I am sure they are not aware of it.

Most wouldn't have a clue, unless they have some form of GPS speed display.