2005 Camry Exhaust Upgrade

mulla

Hi all,

I currently own a stock 2005 Altise V6, haven't changed anything on it except for a set of 17s. I've read somewhere (a little while ago) that the reason why the Sportivo from the same year has 145kW instead of 141kW is due to a low restriction exhaust?

Been thinking of the idea of upgrading the exhaust to give me that additional 4kW? Being a total noob to cars, I'm wondering if simply changing the muffler would be sufficient? Or does the entire exhaust system needs upgrading?

Finally how much do you reckons it's going to be approximately including labour? Are people actually going to feel the 4kW?

Thanks in advance!

According to Toyota, it is just the muffler that makes the 4kw gain. However the bad news is that that muffler is not made anymore and it will be hard to find. I have one of them on my gen4. Its good where it makes no drone whatsoever, not overly loud or obnoxious, and but has a nice deep growl.

Thanks for the quick response :)

Hmm... So you used to be able to get them OEM? I didn't know that! Should have asked this question earlier ;) Could I say go to a wreckers find a written off Sportivo and ask for the muffler to be cut off? ;) I imagine there's no "electronic" variable flow control devices in these "simple" mufflers :)

Would I be able to achieve similar power gains with an aftermarket muffler?

Iv'e got one on my gen4 as well and gotta say it's a nice upgrade :yahoo: .

There should still be some new as there was about 11 left when I bought mine about 6 months ago.

Just hit up you Toyota service department and ask em to search for one in all states if they don't have one in stock, should turn up a few (I think there's some in Canberra).

Oh and if you find one from a wreck it wont need to be cut of just unbolted ;)

You could go with an aftermarket cat back but that's probably going to be louder not too sure if it would make more or less KW though.

Edited by RelishGTP