Second hand Echos

Milgram

G'day all,

I am a Camry driver but am looking to help my sister buy her first car in the next 12 months or so.

I am set on recommending the Toyota Echo to her - I drove one for a week whilst on holiday in Queensland last year and was very much impressed by the zip, economy and the fact it felt like I was driving something bigger. The clutch took some getting use to, its much lighter and has less travel than my Touring, but I was sad to hand the car back!

We are looking at the sedan in the Series II model (post 2003?) and am just wondering what to look for and what sort of maintenance these cars require - e.g. do they have a timing belt?

Cheers.

there's no timing belt on the echo. chain driven.

if i were your sister, tell her to get the new yaris. the Echo tend to be abit bumpy, doesnt take bumps really well. besides that the 1.5L is better than the 1.3L engine. If you're getting the sedan then you'll get the 1.5L

goodluck!

I agree that the bumps can get the better of the Echo, but it's just so reliable. My girlfriend bought a 2000 model new and she's absolutely never had a major issue, even after several accidents. I once drove a Yaris (2006 I think?) and was impressed by the power it had for such a small displacement (1.5L) engine. In a straight line it's really stable and solid for a deceptively small car.

I would highly recommend both of these cars. It probably just comes down to budget and aesthetics.

Edited by Keisari

Go a new Yaris, far superior vehicle to an Echo. And besides, Echos hold their value fairly well, and you only need to spend a few more K's to get into a new vehicle. You should be able to pick up a new YR 3 door manual for around $15K drive away.

what you have to look for is.... make sure it isn't an Ex-Pizza Delivery car :)

Another is... if it has ever been in any accidents before... don't buy it.

Better off purchasing a new one of these.