somethings burning...

ok i'm fairly new to the car scene... and i just got my first car - 2003 ascent :D

im really in love with it now... got some big plans for it...

but i have one problem... if i drive it for a bit, and rev the engine up fairly high (but nothing too high), i get a really strong burning smell... sorta smells alot like burning oil, but im not sure...

any ideas what this could be? it was serviced at about 10,000ks (its done 14200 now), maybe i should go get it checked out again...

so yeah if anyone could give me an idea of what this might be, it would be really appreciated :)

ok i'm fairly new to the car scene... and i just got my first car - 2003 ascent  :D

im really in love with it now... got some big plans for it...

but i have one problem... if i drive it for a bit, and rev the engine up fairly high (but nothing too high), i get a really strong burning smell... sorta smells alot like burning oil, but im not sure...

any ideas what this could be? it was serviced at about 10,000ks (its done 14200 now), maybe i should go get it checked out again...

so yeah if anyone could give me an idea of what this might be, it would be really appreciated  :)

Could be a variety of things, are you driving it hard and is it a manual? if so your probably just heating your clutch up a bit, if not then it could be a multitude of things.

Can you give us some more details like manual or auto, how hard you drive it, how long you drive it for before it smells etc etc

Cheers

Blade

i can vouch that, if you plant an auto. it burns up

Can you provide more detail on that, grimlock? Examples of the type of driving, particular atmospheric conditions, load, etc?

I notice a slight burning smell from our auto when I've been up it a bit, but I assumed it was just hot brakes (stops nicely for a "family wagon", really).