starter wash kit for a new car

Schy

hi everyone,

i just had my new car for about 2-3 weeks now, and i want to give it a wash.. as i am new to all of this, and after reading the forums, there are a lot of things needed to wash a car! :o

so i am just wondering, what do i need as a 'starter kit' for washing a car? like the chamois and microfibre cloths and which shampoo and all that stuff.. please explain to someone who doesn't know anything about cars and cleaning.. lol!

can i use the wash n wax soap to wash the car even though i haven't actually given the car a wax yet? and, i want to give the car a wax to have it shiny.. :D

all suggestions will be helpful.. thank you very much in advance!

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

microfibre cloths,

2 buckets

microfibre sponge

chamois

:]

edit: in the detailing show and shine pages there are great reviews/writeups, one by andrew specifically where he rates them according to his us, holdup, ill look for it and link it if i find it,

Product Review Thread

edit2: dude -_____- " the page is pinned, lol :P

I don't know about other products but my car is parked outside 24/7 and I don't want to have to keep applying wax every few months so I went for the synthetic paint sealant for the protection instead of the super glossy finish of a wax. I suppose I can add wax on top of it but I can't be bothered. It looks glossy enough for me.

I bought the Duragloss paint protection pack from Car Care Product.

http://www.carcareproducts.com.au/product/duragloss/paint_protection_pack

But you'll probably need to buy the car shampoo as well as the clay bar kit.

The quality of the finish and protection depends on how well you prepare the car and claying before applying the sealant is a must for best result. After the sealant application, all you have to do is basically do a quick wash and apply quick detailer, once a week or two weeks or even a month.