My Aurion strikes again

Henstepper

Well my Aurion was squealing like a pig so i take it down and of course idler, tensioner, water pump gone. So have them replaced and since the new water pump has gone in  both mornings ive checked the coolant level and the reseviour is bone dry. I take it back and the guy says its normal. They pressure tested the system added more coolant but im still losing coolant overnight. He said not to be concerned but i should not be losing coolant like that

Edited by Henstepper

Hi Steve no does not sound right, if it isn't on the ground it is going somewhere into the engine. Especially after a pressure test not showing leaks it sounds like a possible head gasket to me but i am not a mechanic. If it was me I would be taking it back with a witness to the conversation between you and the owner or manager of wherever performed the exchange. 

Let us know what happens, as the old saying fix it right the first time was not used here for sure

KAA

I have to replace both Idler and Tensioner pullies too. No big deal as they are a wear item and usually need doing at or around 150K or so.

What I think is happening with your coolant Steve, is that it's likely he didn't bleed the air out completely. It's a pain in the you know what to do as it takes around 20 minutes or more to get all the air out. Some may think it's bled after only 5 minutes of engine runtime, when in fact it's waiting to cough up more as the air pockets move through the engine. 
The 2GR-FE is a stubborn engine to bleed. Your missing coolant in the reservoir is being pulled back in after it's burped the air out. Just keep topping it up daily until you don't have to anymore. It may need topping up a couple more times. I'm surprised it hasn't overheated.
If it still persists, then take it back to the genius mechanic who sent you on your way in the first place and let us know how you go ok.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Henstepper said: