3VZ-FE Spark Plug Change

HoldenBoi

To all the naysayers that think the spark plugs in an 92 - 96 V6 Camry can't be changed without removing the intake plenum: it's not easy but possible.

I had a dead cylinder so I started with the basics. Leads are 2 months old so time for new plugs. Total time, just under 45 minutes (10 minutes for the front bank).
However, I have: 20 years professional experience (although I've never done this particular job before)
all the right tools (extensions, uni joints)
very small hands

So, now I can say I've done it but, I still have a dead cylender.... more on that later

Edited by HoldenBoi

I believe Toyota have tools to allow the sparks to be changed on the 3vz and 1mz engines without having to take off the plenum chamber.

No one has said it's impossible, but most say it's so much of a problem without the right tools that it's not worth the swears that ensue when trying.

To all the naysayers that think the spark plugs in an 92 - 96 V6 Camry can't be changed without removing the intake plenum: it's not easy but possible.

I had a dead cylender so I started with the basics. Leads are 2 months old so time for new plugs. Total time, just under 45 minutes (10 minutes for the front bank).

However, I have: 20 years professional experience (although I've never done this particular job before)

very small hands

So, now I can say I've done it but, I still have a dead cylender.... more on that later

Isolated injector or compression checked the cylinder yet?

Edited by trentmeyer23

I had a dead cylender so I started with the basics. Leads are 2 months old so time for new plugs. Total time, just under 45 minutes (10 minutes for the front bank).

very small hands

Isolated injector or compression checked the cylinder yet?

They're next on the list, but thanks. The funny thing is it only happens once the engine heats up. I'm seriously thinking injector.

More soon

Edited by HoldenBoi