Tinting the Kluger - Tinting vs Coloured Glass??

rzkman

Hi All,

Looking at tinting the front windows of the Kluger to match the rears as close as possible. I rang of these tinting chains here in Melbourne to get more information. The guy was telling me that on the Kluger the rear glass is actually just coloured glass and not a tint film with no UV protection. Is this correct? Or their way of getting me to tint the whole car? Their suggestions was to put a very light tint over the rear glass and then to match it on the fronts.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Ray.

Hi Ray, Ive heard that the glass is tinted too. I dont think you can legally tint the front windows as much as the rear. The main thing I guess, is to try and match the overall shade or colour. Tinting the rest of the windows to do so, seems a little excessive, but Im no expert.

Hi Scott,

Thanks for your input. I guess one can interpret the word 'tint' in various ways. That is, is it tinted with a film on the glass, or is the colour actually in the glass. What the tint shop is saying is that with coloured glass, there is no UV protection. Since we have a little one in the back, I think it is a good idea to get the UV protection.

I really don't like the current look of dark windows at the back and much lighter windows at the front, but I am guess there is some law in Japan in regards to the max tint at the front.

I do suspect that if I was to tint the fronts to match the rears it will not be a at a legal level - I am hoping that being a more family - oriented car that it won't attract the attention of the boys in blue. Not that its justified cause, but I've seen many cars on the road that have really dark tints all around.

Thanks,

Ray