DIY Earth Kit

SuperDave

I'm no expert in the names of some parts but I'll inlcude a pic of anything I am unsure of.

A soldering iron is also required in order to get a good electrical connection between the wire and ring terminals.

Minimum upgrade parts; (costs about $35)

1x Negative terminal block (circled blue in pic below) with at least 2 connections for 8 gauge electrical wire.

6x 8 gauge ring terminals (link)

2m of 8 gauge electrical wire

I recommend the parts below since the battery earthing wires are already 8 gauge.

Better upgrade parts; (costs about $40)

1x Negative terminal block with at least 2 connections for 4 gauge electrical wire

2x 4 gauge ring terminals

4x 8 gauge ring terminals (link)

1m of 8 gauge electrical wire

1m of 4 gauge electrical wire

Providing you don't stuff up excessively, there should be plenty of electrical wire outlined. And to avoid a second trip to the shop you could maybe buy an extra ring terminals.

Step 1.

Cut the electrical wire into 4 outlined below.

Wire A: 370mm of 8 gauge

Wire B: 630mm of 8 gauge

Wire C: 370mm of 4 or 8 gauge

Wire D: 620mm of 4 or 8 gauge

Step 2.

Add ring terminals to both ends of wires A and B

Add ring terminals to only 1 end of wires C and D

This is done by stripping back a little of the plastic shielding, twist the exposed wires place into the cylindrical hole and add solder with a soldering iron. Since the ring terminals is pretty big I recommend holding the ring terminals in some pliers and hold the iron (whilst on max temp) against the ring terminals until it gets bloody hot. Then add the wire and feed the solder in while still holding the iron against the ring terminals. You may need to move the iron into direct contact with the solder.