ZRE Engine Oil

jtron85

OK i know a reasonable amount about cars but not much to sweet FA about oils, i just havent bothered to learn to much in this department. Im a pretty spirited driver of my ZRe and have been thinking i should be running something a bit "better" in mine than the OEM oil. As we are soon coming into summer, whats my best option?

Ps, does everyone else have a bit of a light rattle on startup until she warms up?

OK i know a reasonable amount about cars but not much to sweet FA about oils, i just havent bothered to learn to much in this department. Im a pretty spirited driver of my ZRe and have been thinking i should be running something a bit "better" in mine than the OEM oil. As we are soon coming into summer, whats my best option?

Ps, does everyone else have a bit of a light rattle on startup until she warms up?

I know that it's obvious Mobil 1 5w-50 and Castrol Edge 5w-30 sh*ts on the OEM oil but I say anyway. I found the main difference between OEM oil and Mobil/Castrol was the startup and warming up period. I found with the OEM oil, the car revs high for the first min or so but this amount of high rev time is reduced significantly with Mobil/Castrol and warms up quicker (due to the 5w-xx). I also found that the engine was more free-revving in acceleration and more fuel efficient.

When I had Mobil 1 5w-50 in my car over last summer, I knew I could push it without worry. However saying this, some might say 50 might be too thick and a 5w-40 oil will be a better choice for summer for spirited drivers. Castrol is cheaper and somewhat similar to Mobil 1 (to me), so I think I will stick to Castrol Edge 5w-30 for the next service.

Peter.

yes i notice it this morning too pete !

OMG ..... man .... not another oil thread ..... ok ill give it a slight bit of credit that its aimed at ZRE's and not ZZE's but still guys its much for muchness when it comes to these corolla's.